h1

PhD thesis “Patchworking as a Metaphor for Learning – Understanding youth, learning and technology” (2007)

November 14, 2007

Thomas Ryberg defended his interesting thesis “Patchworking as a Metaphor for Learning – Understanding youth, learning and technology” on November 16th, 2007. Congratulations, Thomas :-)!

For more knowledge about the PhD defense and the thesis see: http://www.ell.aau.dk/PhD-Thesis-on-Power-Users.429.0.html. If you would like to read the thesis, it’s available here.

3 comments

  1. Hi Mikala – thanks a lot for the mention and the good wishes you sent by mail. Glad I found your blog as well – will subscribe immediately🙂


  2. Hi Thomas,
    Thanks for both mail and comment. Your comment is actually my first comment on my new and still aspiring-to-become-an-interesting-blog-eventually🙂. When looking at your homepage http://www.ell.aau.dk/Thomas-Ryberg.102.0.html I get so much inspiration in so many different forms. Thanks for visiting and sharing.


  3. Hey Thomas,
    I have been reading your interesting dissertation yesterday (introduction, chapter 10 and
    11) and I continue reading today.

    Now it has become quite clear for me where your interest in Rogoff (whose book ”The Cultural Nature of Human Development” I wrote about a while ago and you commented my entry: https://mikalasklumme.wordpress.com/2007/11/20/75/) as well as my use of the concept of “blackboxing” stems from (see my answer to your comment on this: https://mikalasklumme.wordpress.com/2007/11/21/blackboxing/)🙂 .

    I find your discussion about the concept of “power users”, and your analyses of how relations between youth, technologies and skills are presented in various research literature and surveys really interesting.

    Even though we (as far as I can tell) have somewhat different points of departures (we both get inspiration from sociocultural theories of learning and development, but you are also inspired by interaction analysis, and I’m heavily inspired by Science, Technology and Society Studies (STS) and Actor-Network Theory (ANT)), it looks like we both attempt to show how different imaginaries are enacting e.g. “power users” as something we take for granted and (I have some similar points) – very central – that many imaginaries represented by research and surveys take point of departure in the assumption that there is an immediate coherence between distribution of technologies, amount of use, and development of relevant skills.

    We are both interested in cross-contextual relations/the ‘stuff’ in-between/the informal (squarely put), but our empirical foundations (in our theses) are very different. You (if I understand it right) worked from the beginning of the project from a box called “power users” that partly formed your research, but you also partly formed the box. I have (I claim🙂 ) investigated various kinds of boxes that become enacted in everyday livings, when dealing with issues of ICT, digital media and learning (partially in a business college setting).

    It is kind of interesting that we do something different, and yet it seems like we end up with interesting perspectives that may supplement each other?

    I would really like to chat about your thesis (ask questions and listen to your answers) if you are interested and think you can find the time…

    You also have many good and important theoretical and methodological points about sociocultural theories.

    All in all… Wouww!! What a piece of work (and I haven’t even come about to read the ‘body’ of the text, yet🙂 .

    I can hardly wait to see what you actually mean by your concept of “patchworking”. I can (until now) easily see and relate to your points, and I partly agree that (some?) learning processes (if I understood you correctly?) may be viewed like this (maybe especially the kind of learning processes, you’ve enacted? Problem-oriented, goal-directed and somewhat school-like?), but I’m not (yet) convinced that the learning processes with ICT and digital media that I have investigated (and enacted) can be captured by the metaphor of “patchworking”.

    Well, I will read and wonder more….

    Exciting stuff, Thomas! Great mental confetti🙂



Leave a Reply

